Day 254: Final Thoughts

Enjoying My Freedom

Enjoying My Freedom

 

If you are new to my blog – the best thing to do is to go to the beginning.  You can do this using the “Index” tab.  It also enables you to navigate to specific scriptures.

(This is the last post in the series).

And now the journey through Matthew ends. I feel like I accomplished what I set out to do. I finally got to speak my peace about what the life of Jesus means to me. It has been extremely liberating to have the opportunity to freely express my thoughts. It’s been my own little declaration of independence from the church and conventional teachings. In the words of Dr. Seuss, “Be who you are and say what you feel, because those who mind don’t matter and those who matter don’t mind.”

I really feel Jesus has spoken to me and it has been incredibly enlightening.  It has also been a healing experience.   It was difficult at times.  Sometimes my hands shook as I expressed things I’ve never dared to say out loud before for fear of either initiating an unpleasant argument or being rejected.

I entered into this not sure about how I would feel by the time I got to the end of it.  I must say that I am even more inspired than ever to be a faithful follower of Jesus of Nazareth.

I strongly encourage everyone to express their own unique thoughts and beliefs.  The purpose of self-expression is not to change anyone’s mind.  We all have a right to share our true thoughts and feelings, so we should be bold and add our voices to the conversation!!  What are your own your real thoughts about Jesus?  What are your thoughts about God?  How do you feel about the church?  What feeds your spirit?  What touches your soul?  What do you think God likes and dislikes about our society and our world?  Are your beliefs really your own, or are you just following someone else’s teachings?  If so, who are you following?  To some extent we have all been influenced by other people’s theology, some good and some bad.  Remember that if someone tells you that there is only one way of thinking or interpreting the Bible or anything else related to God – they are wrong.  Any real theologian, any church historian, any pope or cardinal, would agree about that.  Everything is subject to interpretation within the context of our own time and place.  It’s not as simple as some people would lead you to believe.

We have a great capacity to encouraging others simply by sharing our opinions.  I believe one of our important tasks is to listen to what God is saying to each of us and pass it on.  Your interpretation of the Bible, what God is doing in the world, and what Jesus is all about is as good as anyone else’s.  We ALL need to exercise our freedom of speech and freedom of religion by sharing our personal wisdom and perceptions.  God reveals a unique bit of himself to each of us, and the sharing of all these bits enriches us all.  And so when you hear someone saying something that you don’t agree with – especially if it’s mean or domineering ….fear not and speak up!  Let your voice be heard!

What do all of these scriptures say to you?

 

 

Leave a Reply

